10 Nov 20:00

Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg

Conductor: Howard Griffiths

Solist: Arabella Steinbacher, violi

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 1 in E-flat Major, K16
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Violin Concerto No. 4 in D Major, K218
Franz Schubert, Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, D 485

The direct connection with Mozart is both the calling card and trump card of the Mozarteum Orchestra, a cultural ambassador of the city of Salzburg and a Mozart Gold Medal laureate – an orchestra that honours the great legacy of this musical genius, and has through a rich history spanning more than 150 years developed an original and modernised take on the Viennese classicism. The First Viennese School also features prominently in Arabella Steinbacher’s astounding, broad and stylistically diversified repertoire. One-time youngest protégée of the illustrious Ana Chumachenko, Steinbacher has grown to become one of the leading violinists of our time.

Under the baton of distinguished conductor Howard Griffiths, the strong partnership of world-class musicians promises to open new horizons in the interpretation of Viennese classics. 



The musical interpretation is a complete success: for in spite its enormous challenges, the music is delivered by Mozarteum Orchestra with admirable concentration and immense accuracy.

Supple mastery, bows biting into strings, rhythms accentuated, fearless in the rapid, high-flying outbursts. Arabella Steinbacher, what a player.
Fiona Maddocks, 2020

Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg

10 Nov 20:00
Show more

30,00 | 42,00 | 56,00 | 65,00 EUR



The Card of Cankarjev dom 

© Cankarjev dom

Cookies   Production: ENKI