Past event
20 Oct 2023 20:00

Wiener Symphoniker

Conductor: Jaap van Zweden

Soloist: Simone Lamsma, violin

Richard Wagner, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, WWV 96, Prelude: Act 1 
Benjamin Britten, Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.15
Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op. 67 

As Vienna’s cultural ambassador and premier concert orchestra, the Wiener Symphoniker handle the lion’s share of symphonic activity that makes up the musical life of the city. For over a century, the orchestra has focused on preserving the traditional, Viennese orchestral sound. The sound of this tradition-rich orchestral institution has been shaped by many prominent conductors (R. Strauss, W. Furtwängler, H. von Karajan …). The Ljubljana concert will be conducted by Jaap van Zweden, one of today’s most sought-after conductors. 
Currently Music Director of the New York Philharmonic, and Music Director of the Hong Kong Philharmonic, Jaap van Zweden was appointed the youngest ever concertmaster of the Concertgebouw Orchestra at the age of nineteen. In 2023, the conductor was presented with the Concertgebouw Prize in recognition of his exceptional contribution to the artistic profile of this organisation.

The Symphoniker will be joined by internationally renowned violinist Simone Lamsma. In 2019, Lamsma was made Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music in London, an honour limited to former Academy students who have distinguished themselves within the profession. Britten's story of a blossoming love against the backdrop of an impending war occupies a special place in the musician’s stylistically varied and broad repertoire. 



Wiener Symphoniker

20 Oct 2023 20:00
20 Oct 2023 20:00
Show more

35,00 | 46,00 | 60,00 | 67,00 EUR

30,00 | 42,00 | 56,00 | 62,00 EUR * * EUR for younger than 25 and older than 65, as well as pensioners.



The Card of Cankarjev dom 

© Cankarjev dom

Cookies   Production: ENKI